

Updated July 12, 2022

Annually, NCSL collects legislative salary, mileage reimbursement and per diem information from all 50 states. In 2022, NCSL also collected data from Washington D.C. and the territories. This information is presented in the table below.

Every other year, NCSL conducts a broader survey on legislative compensation, including information on office supplies and benefits. This more extensive survey was last completed in <u>2021</u>.

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
Alabama	\$53,956	58.5/mile.	For overnight stays: \$85/day. For two or more days with overnight stays: \$100/day.
Alaska [i]	\$50,400	58.5/mile.	For legislators whose permanent residence is not in Juneau: up to \$307/day. For Juneau legislators: no per diem.
Arizona	\$24,000	58.5/mile. Tied to the federal rate.	The session per diem rate for state legislators residing in Maricopa County is \$35/day for the first 120 days of regular and special sessions and \$10/day for all following days. For legislators residing outside of Maricopa County, 100% of the average of the six highest months of the annual federal per diem rate for Maricopa county, including lodging, as determined by the United States general services administration. The director of the department of administration shall determine this amount annually (currently \$220/day) for the first 120 days of regular and special sessions and half that amount (currently \$110/day) for all following days. This is set

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
			in statute, but will change each year as the US general services administration adjusts the federal rates.
Arkansas	\$44,357	58.5/mile. Tied to the federal rate.	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$59/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$155/day.
California	\$119,702	58.5/mile.	\$211/day for Senators and \$214/day for Representatives.
Colorado	\$40,242	58.5/mile.	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$45/day. For legislators living more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$234/day. Set by the legislature. Vouchered.
Connecticut	\$28,000	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	No per diem is paid.
Delaware	\$48,237	40/mile.	Legislators do not receive a per diem but do receive a stipend worth \$7,481.00 that is divided by 26 pays (\$287.73 a paycheck).
Florida [ii]	\$29,697	44.5/mile.	\$152/day for up to 50 days for senators and up to 60 days for representatives. Vouchered.
Georgia	\$17,341	59/mile.	\$247/day. Set by the Legislative Services Committee. Unvouchered.
Hawaii	\$62,604	58.5/mile.	For legislators who do not reside on Oahu: \$225/day. For legislators living on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess only: \$10/day. Legislators who do not reside on Oahu also receive reimbursement for their air travel costs to commute from their home island to Oahu.
Idaho	\$18,875	58.5/mile.	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$71/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$139/day.
Illinois	\$70,645	58.5/mile.	\$155/day.
Indiana [iii]	\$28,791.00	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$196/day. Unvouchered.
Iowa	\$25,000	39/mile.	\$175/day. Unvouchered. During the interim, hotel stays are covered for two-day meetings or with prior approval.
Kansas	\$88.66/session day	56/mile. One round trip per week.	\$155/day. Tied to CONUS.
Kentucky	\$188.22/calendar day	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$170.50/day.
Louisiana	\$16,800	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$160/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.
Maine [iv]	\$15,417 for the first regular session.	The mileage reimbursement rate increased from \$0.44 to \$0.45 per mile effective July 1, 2021, and will	The session per diem rate for state legislators is \$38/day for lodging (or one round-trip mileage in lieu of lodging for the first day of travel in a week and

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
	\$10,999 for the second regular session.	increase to \$0.46 per mile effective Oct. 1, 2022. Legislators are eligible to be reimbursed for tolls paid in traveling to and from sessions of the Legislature or in the performance of duly authorized committee assignments.	up to \$38/day in lieu of lodging for subsequent days of travel during the same week, plus actual tolls). \$32/day for meals. This is set by statute.
Maryland	\$50,330	58.5/mile. Legislators receive \$750/year as taxable income for indistrict travel, but they may decline the allowance.	\$106/day for lodging. \$56/day for meals.
Massachusetts	\$70,537	No mileage reimbursement. Legislators residing within 50 miles of the statehouse receive an office expense stipend of \$17,043 that can be used for travel expenses. Legislators residing more than 50 miles from the state house receive \$22,723.	No per diem is paid. Legislators residing within 50 miles of the statehouse receive an office expense stipend of \$17,043 that can be used for travel expenses. Legislators residing more than 50 miles from the state house receive \$22,723.
Michigan	\$71,685	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	No per diem is paid. Legislators receive an expense allowance of \$10,800/year for session and interim. Set by the compensation commission. Vouchered.
Minnesota	\$46,500	58.5/mile. One round trip per week. Tied to federal rate.	For senators: \$86/day. For representatives: \$66/day. Additional compensation for communication, living expenses and district travel may be possible.
Mississippi	\$23,500	58.5/mile.	\$155/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.
Missouri	\$36,813	49/mile.	\$124/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.
Montana	\$100.46/legislative day	58.6/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$126.12/day. For additional expenses, legislators also receive a primary \$3,000 stipend and a secondary amount between \$1,000 and \$4,000 depending on the square mileage of a legislator's district.
Nebraska	\$12,000	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$59/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$155/day.

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
Nevada	\$164.69/calendar day up to 60 days. Senators who are not up for reelection until 2022 receive \$159.89/calendar day.	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	2021 Data: \$151/day. Travel allowance of \$10,000/session, and additional \$900/session leadership allowance. Per the Nevada Constitution, the Speaker and the Lieutenant Governor, as President of the Senate, each receive an additional allowance of \$2 per diem during the time of their actual attendance as presiding officers. Committee chairs also receive an additional \$900 allowance.
New Hampshire	\$100	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. Legislators can instead choose the state mileage reimbursement option, which is 38/mile for the first 45 miles, and 19/mile thereafter. With this alternative method, the reimbursement is taxed as income, and legislators do not need to drive their personal vehicle.	No per diem is paid.
New Jersey	\$49,000	No mileage reimbursement.	No per diem is paid.
New Mexico	\$0	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$165/day (January and February); \$194/day (March). Tied to federal rate. Vouchered. It goes up to \$202 for FY23 on July 1, 2022.
New York	\$110,000	58.5/mile Tied to federal rate.	For non-overnight travel: \$61/day. For overnight stays: \$183/day.
North Carolina	\$13,951	29/mile. One round trip per week.	\$104/day. Set by statute. Unvouchered. For additional expenses, legislators receive \$559/month.
North Dakota	\$518/month. \$526/month starting July 1, 2021; \$537/month starting July 1 2022.	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$186/day. \$189/day starting July 1, 2021; \$193/day starting July 1, 2022.
Ohio	\$68,674	55/mile for legislators living outside Franklin County.	No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma	\$47,500	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$168/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered. The per diem rate for Oklahoma legislators in the interim (non-session months), approximately

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
			June through January, is \$25/day and limited to 20 days without prior permission of each respective house's leader. This is governed by statute.
Oregon	\$33,852	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$151/day.
Pennsylvania	\$95,432	58.5/mile.Tied to federal rate.	\$178/day for Representatives. \$181/day for Senators.
Rhode Island	\$16,835	56/mile.	No per diem is paid.
South Carolina	\$10,400	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$185.38/day. Tied to federal rate with additional amount added to match average hotel rate in Columbia, SC. All legislators in SC (House and Senate) receive a monthly payment of \$1,000 that we label "in-district" expenses.
South Dakota	\$13,957	One trip is paid at 5/mile, and the remaining are paid at 42/mile. One round trip per week.	\$155/day. Legislative days only. Unvouchered. The per diem rate is the amount fixed for the per diem allowance that is authorized by the United States Internal Revenue Service per SDCL 2-4-2.
Tennessee	\$24,316	will be adjusted to \$.585 per mile.	For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: \$61/day. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol: \$295/day. Currently tied to federal rate. Unvouchered. Beginning in November of 2022, Members will be granted the meals and incidentals amount equal to the allowance granted federal employees for expenses in the Nashville area. For lodging, the higher of: 1. The annual average hotel rate for the previous calendar year in the Nashville central business district as provided by the Nashville Convention and Visitors Corporation or their successor organization if obtainable, or 2. The allowance granted federal employees for lodging expenses in the Nashville area.
Texas	\$7,200	58.4/mile. \$1.515/mile for single, twin and turbo engine airplanes. Set by general appropriations bill. Legislators also receive reimbursement for transportation costs for one roundtrip home each week.	\$221/day. Set by ethics commission. Unvouchered.

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
Utah	\$285/legislative day	56/mile.	No general per diem is paid. For Senate: Legislators residing more than 100 miles from the capitol can receive up to \$100/day. For House: Legislators residing more than 40 miles from the capitol can receive up to \$100/day.
Vermont	\$742.92/week during session.	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$75/day for remote. \$127/night for lodging and \$69/day for meals for in person.
Virginia	\$18,000 for senators. \$17,640 for delegates.	58.5/mile.	\$209/day.
Washington	\$57,876	58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.	\$185/day. Per diem is now tied to 89% of the federal per diem rate and will be reviewed for accuracy each November.
West Virginia	\$20,000	48.5/mile.	\$131/day. Set by compensation commission. Unvouchered.
Wisconsin	\$55,141	51/mile. Senators can claim one round trip per week. Representatives can claim two round trips to the Capitol per week, unless they stay over night and then they can only claim one round trip.	For the Senate: \$115/day for senators who reside outside of Dane County; those in Dane County receive \$57.50. \$153 (with overnight) or \$76.50/day (no overnight) for representatives. The Senate has no limitation on the total number of days a member may claim per diem. Some other restrictions apply, such as a prohibition on claiming per diem on weekends unless the senator is in actual attendance of session or a meeting of a standing committee of which the senator is a member. For the Assembly: Representative can claim 153 per diem days in the first year and 80 in the second year of the session. The per diem rate for the Assembly is \$153 for overnight and \$76.50 for non-overnight and for Dane County legislators.
Wyoming	\$150/day	59/mile.	\$109/day. Set by legislature. Vouchered. Legislators also receive an additional \$300/month; 1/2 salary for 1 day of preparation for each day the legislator is engaged in work for the Management Council or any committee; and 1/2 salary for each day the member travels to and from an interim activity for which he/she is entitled to receive a salary.
District of	Councilmembers earn	In-town mileage is not reimbursable.	Per diem is only authorized when members are on travel for official
Columbia	\$152,813. Chairman earns \$210,000.	Out-of-town mileage is reimbursed if the member is on official business and the destination is farther than 50 miles one way from the District of Columbia. Members must present	business. In those instances, per diem rates as established by the federal GSA are applied.

State	Base Salary	Mileage (cents per mile)	Session Per Diem Rate
		proof of actual mileage incurred and it is reimbursable at rates established by the federal GSA schedule.	
American Samoa	The Senate President and Speaker of the House are paid a base salary of \$30,000. Senators and Representatives are paid a base salary of \$25,000.	No mileage reimbursement.	Federal rate for per diem.
Guam [v]	n/a	n/a	n/a
Northern Mariana Islands	\$32,000	None	Department of Finance calculated the rates based on the average rate per state published by the United States (US) General Services Administration. For travel to the Insular Areas of the United States, the states of Hawaii and Alaska, or to the islands of Saipan, Tinian, Rota. or Guam, per diem rates were calculated based on the average rate per state and territory as published by the US Department of Defense Per Diem Travel and Transportation Allowance Committee (PDTATAC). Per diem rates for travel to foreign countries (not including foreign countries defined as Insular Areas of the United States) were based on the average rate per country published by the US Department of State.
Puerto Rico [vi]	n/a	n/a	n/a
U.S. Virgin Islands	\$85,000	None.	Per Diem for overnight Travel within the USVI \$75. Per Diem for overnight Travel outside of the USVI \$100

2022 Legislator Compensation by State

[i] Alaska state legislators who must move to and from Juneau for regular session are entitled to be reimbursed for relocation expenses in addition to their salary, per diem and mileage.

[ii] No 2022 data available; Reflects 2021 data.

[iii] Any additional expenses for Indiana state legislators must be approved by the President pro tem or the Speaker of the House.

[iv] In addition to salary, per diem, and mileage reimbursement Maine also provides state legislators with a Constituent Service Allowance. Each member of the Senate also receives an annual allowance for constituent services in the amount of \$2,000, \$1,300 in January and \$700 in the month following adjournment of the regular session. Each member of the House of Representatives also receives an annual allowance for constituent services in the amount of \$1,500, \$1,005 in January and \$495 in the month following adjournment of the regular session. Notwithstanding this section, during the first regular session of each legislative biennium, a member of the Senate or the House of Representatives may elect to receive the first payment of the annual allowance for constituent services in December following convening of the Legislature by notifying the Executive Director of the Legislative Council in the manner prescribed by the executive director.

Maine also provides state legislators with a Special Session Per Diem. In addition to the salary paid for the first and 2nd regular sessions of the Legislature, when a special session is called, the members of the Senate and House of Representatives must each be compensated \$100 for every day's attendance, expenses and mileage pursuant to this section; except that if a special session is called during the time period specified in this section for a first regular session or 2nd regular session, the special session per diem does not apply.

[v] No 2022 data available.

[vi] No 2022 data available.

Source: NCSL 2022 Legislator Compensation